Youth Advisory Committee

  Like Us On Facebook

The Youth Advisory Committee is a branch of the Four County Community Foundation whose membership is entirely made up of youth from the community. Our Youth Advisory Committee or “YAC” as we refer to it; was established in the1990’s. The foundation of our YAC was a result of the Kellogg Challenge, which was a challenge to all community foundations in Michigan. The Kellogg Foundation wanted not just adults involved in philanthropy, but youth as well. As of today there are close to 1,900 YAC members state wide.

We strive to have representation from each of the school districts in our service area. These schools include Almont, Armada, Capac, Dryden, Imlay City, and Romeo. Students in grades 7-12 have the opportunity to take an active part in giving back to their community through membership in YAC.

As a Youth Advisory Committee, one of the most important things we do is the Needs Assessment. Every three years, YAC members are responsible for administering the Needs Assessment Survey to all 7th, 9th, and 11th graders in their school districts. YAC uses the results of the Needs Assessment to determine how grant money should be spent, and to decide what service projects the YAC should initiate.  The latest Needs Assessment was completed early in 2017 and is available here.

The YAC granting program is remarkable and unique. YAC is responsible for setting up grant guidelines and deciding which requests for funding will be awarded. YAC members have four grant cycles every year. The April grant cycle is an exceptional, as it is when the YAC chooses scholarship recipients, as well as group grant recipients. The YAC reviews dozens of applications for several different scholarships every spring. Each is a blind review, that is, the YAC members do not know who the applicants are, but make their choices based on the students’ essays.

To learn more about YAC opportunities or philanthropic events contact Four County Community Foundation.

Youth Advisory Committee Members

OfficersMembersKellogg Youth Advisory Committee Advisors
  •  – President
  • Shelby Husovsky – Treasurer
  • McKennah Hopkins – Secretary
  •  – Vice President of Community Events
  • Carsyn Boggio
  • Kylie Devlamink
  • Peyton Engstrom
  • Hunter Haase
  • Wesley Hampton
  • Jacob Jankowski
  • Marin Luxgrant
  • Evan Marsh
  • Teagan Norman
  • Lizzy Parisot
  • Jack Paupert
  • Kayleigh Rienas
  • Lilly Rodriguez
  • Benjamin Roland
  • Reagan Roszcewski
  • Avis Schapman
  • Noah Verlinde
  • Janet Bauer
  • Michael Becker
  • Kelly Carson
  • Kim Fleming
  • Kim Jorgensen
  • Dina Miramonti
  • Sarah Mousseau
  • Laura Schapman

YAC Grant and Scholarship Applications

Since being established in 1990, 4CCF YAC has awarded more than 640 grants and scholarships totaling $519,000.  Our YAC works continuously to better the lives of youth through philanthropy.

4CCF YAC Group Grants are awarded four times per year.  Application deadlines are January 1, April 1, July 1 and October 1.  Please visit our Grantees page to apply for a grant.

4CCF YAC also awards several scholarships through a blind review process.  The scholarship deadline is April 1.  Please visit our Scholarship page to apply.